Market snapshot · ↗Bitcoin price$77,735Network hashrate936 EH/sDifficulty127.45 T

AI & infrastructure

Applied Digital brings another 75 MW online at Polaris Forge 1

Source report: 2026-10-02 · Editorial analysis published: 2026-10-03

Three newly ready 25 MW halls lift the Ellendale campus to 250 MW of operating critical IT load; the fully leased campus remains contracted for 400 MW at full buildout.

CERN data center, contextual photograph; not Polaris Forge 1.
Illustrative archive photograph; not the specific product or facility described in the news. Converted to WebP; resized where needed. Unnerving duck · CC BY-SA 4.0

Analysis and practical implications

This section is our analysis and illustrative calculations, separate from the source report.

Three data halls reached ready-for-service status

Applied Digital said on October 2 that the second phase of Building 2 at Polaris Forge 1 achieved Ready for Service. The phase comprises three data halls rated at 25 megawatts of critical IT load each, adding 75 MW. Ready for Service is a more advanced milestone than planned or contracted power because the operator says the halls can support customer equipment. It does not disclose server installation, utilization, customer acceptance or revenue recognized during the announcement period.

Data-center infrastructure, contextual photograph; not the announced Applied Digital halls.
Illustrative archive photograph; not the specific product or facility described in the news. Converted to WebP; resized where needed. Christopher Bowns · CC BY-SA 2.0

Operating critical load reached 250 megawatts

The new phase completes Building 2 at 150 MW and brings the campus to 250 MW of fully operational critical IT load. This total follows an initial 100 MW building and the first 75 MW phase of Building 2. Critical IT load refers to power available to computing equipment, which is more useful than a utility-service headline for comparisons. The release does not publish measured average consumption, occupancy, power-usage effectiveness or the amount of customer hardware already energized.

Full buildout remains a 400 megawatt commitment

Applied Digital describes Polaris Forge 1 as fully leased and contracted to deliver 400 MW of critical IT load at full buildout. The difference between 250 MW operating and 400 MW contracted leaves 150 MW still outside the announced operating total. A lease and construction plan can support future revenue, but they are not the same as commissioned capacity. The company does not give a new ready-for-service date for the remaining 150 MW in this release.

The campus is in Ellendale, North Dakota

Polaris Forge 1 is located in Ellendale, where Applied Digital says it has operated since 2021. The company presents the site as an AI and high-performance-computing campus and cites closed-loop cooling in its corporate description. The announcement does not provide a new cooling-water figure, local tariff, grid-interconnection detail, backup-power design or carbon intensity. Those metrics are necessary before comparing its operating economics with a bitcoin mine using the same nominal megawatts.

Commissioning turns power into customer capacity

The company’s chief executive distinguishes securing power from designing, building, commissioning and operating usable infrastructure. That distinction is important for mining and AI projects: contracted service can remain stranded until electrical rooms, cooling, controls, networking, fire systems and acceptance tests are complete. Three separate 25 MW halls also allow phased handover and fault isolation. The release confirms the milestone but provides no independent commissioning report, availability history or service-level measurement.

AI load differs from interruptible bitcoin mining

Bitcoin miners can often curtail quickly and tolerate wider variation in operating schedules, while leased AI infrastructure usually depends on continuous service, dense networking and stricter environmental control. Moving former mining expertise toward AI therefore requires more than reallocating megawatts. Operators must fund redundant distribution, cooling, security and customer-specific fit-out. Applied Digital’s 75 MW delivery demonstrates physical progress, but the release does not disclose the capital cost per megawatt or operating margin of the new halls.

The announcement separates current and future capacity

The most defensible reading is 75 MW newly ready, 150 MW in Building 2, 250 MW operating across the campus and 400 MW contracted at full buildout. These figures describe different scopes and should not be added together. The 75 MW is already part of the 250 MW, while the 250 MW is already part of the 400 MW goal. Keeping those sets separate prevents the common error of reporting 725 MW or calling all 400 MW operational.

What to monitor after ready for service

Useful next evidence includes customer equipment installation, acceptance dates, occupancy, recurring lease revenue, measured critical load, facility efficiency and uptime. Future announcements should also show when the remaining 150 MW reaches the same ready-for-service threshold. For miners and infrastructure investors, Polaris Forge 1 illustrates the value gap between power rights and commissioned compute space. The October 2 release closes part of that gap, while financial performance and sustained operations still require later reporting.

Source: Applied Digital ↗

Mining calculator ↗

More in this section